Chapter 628 - Scary is Cute
It was a classic, straightforward J-horror film.
A hit from a few years ago, it was a work that stuck faithfully and carefully to the basics without trying to be overly clever. I'd never seen it, but I knew it by name.
It wasn't the type that relied on jump scares—you know, the kind that startles you with loud noises—but rather one that focused on atmosphere, slowly building up the terror.
I'm not particularly bad with horror films, so if it was a well-regarded piece, I probably would have enjoyed it.
However, that's only if I had been able to watch it normally.
—And so, ten minutes after the movie began.
"…! …!?"
"What in the world are you trembling at? That's definitely just a lady out for a walk, an extra, and her Shiba Inu is cute, isn't it?"
I couldn't help but retort to Nia, who had been freaking out at everything on screen since the opening credits, when nothing had even happened yet.
—Thirty minutes in.
"…The, the window."
"Yep, the window, something was there. It's okay, calm down, take a deep breath and slowly release my left arm. Putting your neighbor in an armbar has no exorcism effect…!"
I had to placate Ashe, who, as the movie began to show its true colors and the horror elements started to trickle in, reacted with a deadpan voice while tightening her grip on me.
—Forty minutes in.
"Sora-san, are you alive… awake? You haven't moved a muscle."
"…I'm watching properly."
"R-Right."
I was impressed with Sora-san, who, while scared, seemed to have her curiosity win out as she watched with intense concentration, thinking, "Good for you, being able to watch the movie so quietly."
—And then, one hour in, during the climax of the horror story.
"That's fake."
"Now she's completely ruining the mood…! Hey, wait, you… if you're going to start chanting affirmations, at least calm down! What do you have against my left arm…!?"
"The people who died are all still alive. It's a work of fiction."
"Hey, look at the reality next to you, not just what's on film…!"
And your voice is trembling, Princess. It's really surprising that you get scared like this, but not just my left arm, now my right one too!!!
"—, —! ————!!!"
"No, I don't get it! I can't understand you if you shake my hand infinitely in two different ways—and you're so strong! Where does that power come from in those slender arms…!?"
"—————————!!!"
"Listen to me, you two on either side!!!!!"
With Ashe retreating from the fiction into her own reality and Nia literally letting out voiceless screams and thrashing about, there was no way I, caught between these two monsters, could enjoy a peaceful movie-watching experience. Time passed with only fragments of the plot registering in my brain…
"…"
In the end, only the girl who had become completely engrossed was able to properly enjoy the film.
◇◆◇◆◇
"I am never watching a horror movie with this group again."
"'I'm sorry.'"
Ninety-something minutes later. In response to my declaration, made while sinking into a fatigue completely unrelated to the film's horror, came voices and words of apology from both sides.
I mean, I know everyone reacts to fear differently, so it can't be helped, but as the one who had his joints locked and hand nearly crushed, I think I'm allowed to complain a little.
But when they apologize so earnestly, I can't help but forgive them in a heartbeat.
For now, I'll just rewatch this movie by myself later when I have time… and since a proper discussion of our thoughts on it seems unlikely, I'll bring up a topic unrelated to the film.
"I was honestly pretty surprised… Ashe-san."
"What is it?"
"You're exceptionally bad with horror, aren't you?"
"…"
She turned her face away. Was it out of embarrassment, or was she just being a sore loser?
"…I wasn't always this bad. It's all Arcadia's fault."
"What do you mean?"
"Virtual worlds, VR, AR, AI technology—so many things I thought were impossible have been overturned. If technology that seems like magic from some occult story exists… then I can no longer say for sure that unscientific beings like ghosts don't exist either."
"Ah…"
That was a more logical reason than I expected. Coupled with her concise and deeply convincing way of speaking, it seemed this was just the [Sword Queen] being her usual self.
Now, for the one on my right.
"Nia-chan?"
"…"
"Come on, spit it out. You're under suspicion of putting my right hand in a vise grip."
"Could you not make me sound like I have super strength!?"
I think you're at least above average for a girl. Being healthy is a good thing.
"I'm fine with foreign horror or monster movies, for what it's worth."
"I see. So you're exceptionally bad with Japanese horror."
"It can't be helped! When I was little, my dad terrified me with all sorts of Japanese horror culture, like yokai and ghosts, and it traumatized me!!! You're just as mean as he is!!!"
"Even if you snap at me with such acrobatic logic…"
Also, I'm sorry, but I didn't really process anything other than you calling him 'papa.'
With a daughter like her, he must have doted on her immensely. As a fellow man, I can understand why he might have teased her a little too much.
Most guys never really outgrow their childish hearts, no matter how old they get.
—And now, for the last one.
"Sora-san, you seemed surprisingly okay with it, huh?"
I directed the question to my partner, who by the end had visibly relaxed and was staring intently at the screen, unfazed by the storm of horror.
Also, to bring some peace to my heart, could you please get off my lap now—the fact that I hesitate for even a moment on whether to say that so bluntly is a sign of how utterly soft I am when it comes to Sora.
The other two have told me to "spoil her all you want," but I know I need to exercise some restraint, as blatant favoritism isn't exactly praiseworthy… or so I keep telling myself.
But when she turns to my call with that innocent face… I'm just weak to that guileless expression.
"When I'm with people, I was surprisingly okay. Um, well, because it was so lively and all."
"Ah, the thing where you calm down when someone else is more scared than you are…"
I get it. I totally get it. That was especially true for me this time.
Though, I didn't feel any fear from what was on the screen, just a sense of danger to my physical person from both sides. I don't understand how I was the one screaming for reasons other than the horror elements—
"But, you see. Um…"
"Yeah? What is it?"
Sora-san, who didn't look pale at all, continued speaking with a troubled expression. What's more, instead of getting off my lap, she pressed her back even closer against me…
"I've always been this type, but…"
"'This type'?"
After a brief moment of hesitation, she confessed in a small voice.
"—Tonight, I probably… won't be able to sleep."
"Ah… that type, I see."
In other words, the real horror begins after the movie is over. The kind where you imagine a presence behind you in the shower, or feel something at the foot of your bed while you're in the dark.
I see, I see… in that case, there's only one thing to say. Cu—
"'Cute.'"
I barely managed to swallow the self-destructive comment, "You're all cute (and you're the ones to talk)."